What is HIDTA?

The mission of the Nevada HIDTA is to measurably reduce drug trafficking, thereby reducing the impact of illicit drugs in this and other areas of the country. This mission is accomplished through the use of multi-agency intelligence driven task forces designed to disrupt and dismantle drug trafficking organizations. These task forces come from federal, state, and local agencies in Clark and Washoe County.

The HIDTA Program helps improve the effectiveness and efficiency of drug control efforts by facilitating cooperation between drug control organizations through resource and information sharing, collocating and implementing joint initiatives. HIDTA funds help federal, state and local law enforcement organizations invest in infrastructure and joint initiatives to confront drug- trafficking organizations. Funds are also used for demand reduction and drug treatment initiatives.

The key priorities of the Program are:

•  Assess regional drug threats;    
•  Design strategies to focus efforts that combat drug trafficking threats;     
•  Develop and fund initiatives to implement strategies;     
•  Facilitate coordination between federal, state and local efforts; to    
•  Improve the effectiveness and efficiency of drug control efforts to reduce or eliminate the harmful impact of drug trafficking.

Each HIDTA is governed by its own Executive Board comprised of approximately 16 members-eight federal members and eight state or local members. These Boards facilitate interagency drug control efforts to eliminate or reduce drug threats. The Executive Boards ensure threat specific strategies and initiatives are developed, employed, supported and evaluated.

HIDTA-designated counties comprise approximately 14 percent of U.S. counties, they are present in 45 states, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the District of Columbia. The following 28 areas are designated as HIDTAs:

1990: Houston, Los Angeles, New York/New Jersey, South Florida and Southwest Border (California, Arizona, New Mexico and Texas);  
1994: Washington/Baltimore (Maryland, Virginia and District of Columbia) and Puerto Rico/U.S. Virgin Islands;  
1995: Atlanta, Chicago and Philadelphia/Camden;  
1996: Rocky Mountain (Colorado, Montana, Utah and Wyoming), Gulf Coast (Alabama, Louisiana and Mississippi), Lake County (Indiana), Midwest (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota) and Northwest (Washington State);  
1997: Southeastern Michigan (subsequently, portions of western Michigan) and Northern California;  
1998: Appalachia (Kentucky, Tennessee and West Virginia), Central Florida, Milwaukee and North Texas (Texas and Oklahoma); and  
1999: 1999: Central Valley California, Hawaii, New England (Connecticut, New Hampshire, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Vermont), Ohio and Oregon.  
 2001: North Florida and Nevada.  

Nevada State

Printer Friendly Format Printer Friendly Format    Send to a Friend Send to a Friend

© 2020, Nevada HIDTA. All rights reserved.