What is HIDTA?

The mission of the Nevada HIDTA is to measurably reduce drug trafficking, thereby reducing the impact of illicit drugs in this and other areas of the country. This mission is accomplished through the use of multi-agency intelligence driven task forces designed to disrupt and dismantle drug trafficking organizations. These task forces come from federal, state, and local agencies in Clark and Washoe County.

The HIDTA Program improves the effectiveness and efficiency of partner agencies by facilitating cooperation between organizations through resource and information sharing, collocating and comingling multi-agency initiatives, enhancing prevention efforts, creating a well trained workforce, and collaboration with public health and community coalitions. HIDTA invests in effective program administration, modern infrastructure, personnel, communication systems, investigative expenses, training costs and consistently strives for innovation.

The key priorities of the Program are:

•  Assess regional drug related crime threats to include, violent crime, drug trafficking, gang crime, firearms crime, human trafficking and other areas important to Nevada communities;   
•  The implementation of effective diverse strategies;     
•  Develop and fund initiatives and methods to implement those strategies;     
•  Facilitate information sharing and coordination;     
•  Improve the effectiveness and efficiency of partner law enforcement agencies and collaboration with public health.

Each HIDTA is governed by its own Executive Board comprised of approximately 14 voting members, 7 federal members and 7 state or local members. The Executive Board has approximately 27 agencies throughout Nevada participating.  

HIDTA-designated counties comprise approximately 14 percent of U.S. counties, they are present in 45 states, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the District of Columbia. The following 28 areas are designated as HIDTAs:

1990: Houston, Los Angeles, New York/New Jersey, South Florida and Southwest Border (California, Arizona, New Mexico and Texas);  
1994: Washington/Baltimore (Maryland, Virginia and District of Columbia) and Puerto Rico/U.S. Virgin Islands;  
1995: Atlanta, Chicago and Philadelphia/Camden;  
1996: Rocky Mountain (Colorado, Montana, Utah and Wyoming), Gulf Coast (Alabama, Louisiana and Mississippi), Lake County (Indiana), Midwest (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota) and Northwest (Washington State);  
1997: Southeastern Michigan (subsequently, portions of western Michigan) and Northern California;  
1998: Appalachia (Kentucky, Tennessee and West Virginia), Central Florida, Milwaukee and North Texas (Texas and Oklahoma); and  
1999: 1999: Central Valley California, Hawaii, New England (Connecticut, New Hampshire, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Vermont), Ohio and Oregon.  
 2001: North Florida and Nevada.  

Nevada State

Printer Friendly Format Printer Friendly Format    Send to a Friend Send to a Friend

© 2020, Nevada HIDTA. All rights reserved.